GibsonTalk.com Forum Index GibsonTalk.com
Gibson Talk Guitar Forum
 

 FAQFAQ SearchSearch Free GamesMake a Donation  UsergroupsUsergroups Free GamesForum Rules ProfileContact RegisterRegister 
ProfileWebsite News Log inSubmit Articles  ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in 


Gibson Guitar Ebay seller fraud



 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    GibsonTalk.com Forum Index -> Gibson Electric Guitars
Author Message
JCP
Labrador



Joined: 27 Feb 2007

Posts: 310

Location: DFW, TX

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 8:41 am    Post subject: Gibson Guitar Ebay seller fraud Reply with quote

Hi Folks,

I've had very good luck with buying used guitars on the internet/ebay, but it can be a very rocky road if you're not sure of what you're looking at..

Gibsons are being knocked off in China and put up as real Gibby's. There are some good links on the ebay site demonstrating fraudulent guitar seller tactics. We usually expect these Chinese fakes to be listed by a China seller, often for starting prices of less than a dollar.

What's worse is when someone in the U.S. trys to pawn off these fakes, as you will see if you click on the link I'm providing. If you're at all familiar with Gibsons, the picture of the headstock/truss rod cover is a dead giveaway.

What I hate to think of is a young person saving up for their first Gibson and losing their money to a thief like this.

If you're a first-time buyer, do some research and be very familiar with the model you seek. As you'll see here, 100% feedback may be meaning- less. (Only two small sales, the rest buyer feedback)

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=270239817740&fromMakeTrack=true&ssPageName=VIP:Watchlink:middle:us

I have reported this listing to ebay security, BTW.
Back to top
JCP
Labrador



Joined: 27 Feb 2007

Posts: 310

Location: DFW, TX

PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2008 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sorry to report that ebay didn't take any action, and some poor soul bought that guitar w/buy it now.
Back to top
herb
Admin 2/Moderator



Joined: 09 Dec 2002

Posts: 2445

Location: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd say somebody got screwed, then. Confused I've always avoided ebay for a couple of reasons - this is one of them. The other is that it appears to be as addictive as heroin; and I spend too much time at this computer as it is! Wink Laughing
Back to top
tw001_tw
Tadpole



Joined: 29 Apr 2008
Posts: 26

Location: St. Louis

PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's a shame. Crying or Very sad
Back to top
2manyGuitars
Little Guppy



Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 30

Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just e-mailed the buyer and filled him in on the situation.
Back to top
2manyGuitars
Little Guppy



Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 30

Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got a reply back from the buyer and he got a refund. The seller said he had no idea it was fake. The buyer thanked me, mentioned he had 3 people contact him and said it was nice to see that some people still look out for each other.
Back to top
herb
Admin 2/Moderator



Joined: 09 Dec 2002

Posts: 2445

Location: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2manyGuitars wrote:
Got a reply back from the buyer and he got a refund. The seller said he had no idea it was fake.


Yeah, right! Confused You watch, he'll put it up again at a later date.
Back to top
Voodoo Funk
Moderator



Joined: 18 May 2002

Posts: 1112

Location: ALPHABET CITY, NY

PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2008 6:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree with HERB...that guy knew exactly what he had and what he sold..the guy was LUCKY he got his money back as it waas in the BEST INTREST on the RIP OFF to do so ....
EBAY does not remove these listings because they GET PAID WHETHER OR NOT THEY ARE FRAUDS OR NOT>

THAT's why EBAY has that DISCLAIMER on the front page so they do not hget sued.....EBAY has become a DUMPING GROUND for all kinds of crapola.

There are a few reputable dealers on EBAY but for the MOST PART I would NOT buy from EBAY.....except if it's from WHICHITA BAND or a VERY WELL KNOWN DEALER.

I would rather send the couple bucks I may be saving on getting one from a dealer close to me...these things are way to expensive to begin with to put my money on the word of a STRANGER....though some people have had great luck....I did but that was YEARS AGO.....NOW I use it for parts ONLY !!!!!

JUST MY OPINION
Voodoo Cool
Back to top
thunderhawk
Not So Newbie



Joined: 19 Jun 2008
Posts: 8


PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Henry has spent millions teaching the Chinese how to guild Gibson copies, it's almost funny/Ironic that they are now selling Gibson "copies" back to us?

After the record that the Chinese have, with "copywrite" etc, what did he expect?
He's even sued them?
what does he expect?
The Chinese Gov doesn't care.
They OWN most of the companies?

The ones I feel bad for, are the kids buying this stuff,

ebay/internet

beware......

Hawk
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    GibsonTalk.com Forum Index -> Gibson Electric Guitars All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


© 2001-2007